Young & Free

Summer is a time of exploration. Its a time of chance, a time of risk, and a time of discovery. For teenagers, summer is two months of the most freedom had all year. No schedules to make time for and no rules to obey. The only clock needed is the sun and the only thing they really need to listen to is their heart. Sure parents make rules, but when you’re young, those rules are just obstacles. Bending or breaking the rules, overcoming those obstacles, it’s part of the fun.

This sort of freedom however is what gets teenagers into trouble. There’s this stereotype out there that teenagers, especially of this generation, are “hooligans”.

Yes. Hooligans.

I mean, I have even caught myself starting to believe it. And I’m a teenager!

This summer I have experienced this so called freedom first hand however and now I know that stereotype could not be more wrong. Teenagers aren’t bored. That’s not why they do it. They do it because its fun. It’s exhilarating. For the most part teenagers have been stuck in the same routine all their lives, at least my friends and I have, and this freedom is a way to let go and go on an adventure.

Now I’m not saying that I’m gonna go out and do drugs or get drunk. That’s not an adventure. Thats what people who are sad do. They want to escape their lives.

I’m talking about sneaking out and going for a night bike ride. Having a mud fight and then lying to your parents about it so you don’t get in trouble. I’m talking about an actual adventure where you learn and explore and enjoy life as a youth.

We want to enjoy living carefree before we’re thrown into the adult world.

Many people don’t understand that. Most adults don’t remember what it’s like. It’s as if once you’re an adult, you’re so focused on accumulating more that you forget about the simpler pleasures in life. And it’s these simpler pleasures that we teenagers are after. Love, friendship, food, but mostly adventure.

Summer brings us these pleasures and gives us the freedom to enjoy them. Whether permitted or not.

Now school will be starting pretty quick here and not long after that snow will cover the ground. The chance of seeing a teenager being a “hooligan” when its below 40 is quite slim. 10 months from now however, that freedom will be renewed.

Until then, here’s to the young and free.

-Mercedes, spiritofagypsy

20130825-170551.jpg

3 thoughts on “Young & Free

  1. Nice. This could be the tone of your blog, everything from a normal teenager’s point of view. The only thing I missed in the post was your unique perspective, as to why you find the mud fight exhilarating. How it crack you up when a friend accidentally snorts some mud and stuff like that. Give us a sneak peek into your world as opposed to a commentary championing the right of teenagers. I hope you take the feedback positively. Its just my two cents worth!

Leave a comment